Pulsed Media vs RapidSeedbox
This is a technical comparison between Pulsed Media (Helsinki, Finland, since 2010) and RapidSeedbox (RapidSeedbox Limited; its terms give a business address in Hong Kong and the organisation data on its website gives an address in Seychelles). Pulsed Media owns its hardware and software and runs its own datacenters (in rented space) in Finland. RapidSeedbox lists servers in France and the Netherlands.
RapidSeedbox has the larger reach: more Trustpilot reviews, more published articles and 24/7 live chat. Pulsed Media has RAID storage, a lower price per terabyte, 20 Gbps plans and an open-source platform. Which matters more depends on what you need.
Quick comparison
| Feature | Pulsed Media | RapidSeedbox |
|---|---|---|
| Company | Helsinki, Finland | RapidSeedbox Limited; Hong Kong (terms), Seychelles (organisation data on its website) |
| Founded | 2010 | 2011 |
| Server locations | Helsinki and Kerava, Finland | France and the Netherlands |
| Max speed | 20 Gbps (Dragon-R) | 10 Gbps |
| Storage redundancy | RAID 5 (M10G) / RAID 10 (Dragon-R) | No RAID level stated |
| Price per TB, best plan | EUR 2.08 (M10G XL, 12 TB, EUR 24.99) | EUR 7.00 (Supreme, 2 TB, EUR 14) |
| Traffic | Monthly allowance per plan, then 100 Mbps with no cutoff | Listed as unlimited, under a fair-use clause |
| Torrent clients | rTorrent, Deluge, qBittorrent | Deluge, ruTorrent, qBittorrent |
| Media stack | Jellyfin + Sonarr/Radarr/Prowlarr (one-command install) | Plex, Emby, Jellyfin on Premium plans |
| VPN | WireGuard + OpenVPN | OpenVPN on all plans, WireGuard on Lean plans |
| Root and remote desktop | SSH shell access | Root SSH and remote desktop on Premium plans (EUR 18+) |
| Support | Tickets + AI sysadmin (Väinämöinen) | 24/7 live chat + tickets |
| Entry price | from EUR 1.99/mo | EUR 4/mo (Basic, 500 GB) |
| Payment | PayPal, crypto (BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH and others) | PayPal, card, Bitcoin |
| Monero (XMR) | Yes | Not listed |
| Open source | PMSS (GPL v3, GitHub) | No |
Infrastructure
Pulsed Media operates its own datacenters (in rented space) in Helsinki and Kerava, Finland. The company owns the racks, servers, switches, cabling, and ASN. Hardware failures are handled by PM staff from on-site inventory. The software stack, PMSS (Pulsed Media Seedbox Solution), has been developed in-house for 16 years and is published as open source under GPL v3.
RapidSeedbox says its servers are in France and the Netherlands, with 4 to 32 users per server. Its plan, FAQ and about pages do not say who owns the hardware or the datacenter space.
Pricing
Monthly prices in EUR as listed on each provider's site on 24 October 2026. Only plans that can be ordered on that date are listed. Both providers charge less per month on longer billing terms.
| Provider | Plan | Storage | Speed | RAID | Price/mo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RS | Basic | 500 GB | 10 Gbps | None stated | EUR 4 |
| RS | Swift | 1 TB | 10 Gbps | None stated | EUR 8 |
| RS | Fast | 1.2 TB | 1 Gbps | None stated | EUR 18 |
| PM | M10G S | 2 TB | 10 Gbps | RAID 5 | EUR 8.99 |
| RS | Supreme | 2 TB | 10 Gbps | None stated | EUR 14 |
| RS | Stream | 2.2 TB | 10 Gbps | None stated | EUR 30 |
| RS | Rapid | 2.8 TB | 10 Gbps | None stated | EUR 36 |
| PM | M10G M | 4 TB | 10 Gbps | RAID 5 | EUR 12.99 |
| RS | Furious | 5.6 TB | 10 Gbps | None stated | EUR 67 |
| PM | M10G L | 8 TB | 10 Gbps | RAID 5 | EUR 19.99 |
| PM | M10G XL | 12 TB | 10 Gbps | RAID 5 | EUR 24.99 |
At 2 TB and 10 Gbps, PM's M10G S costs EUR 8.99 with RAID 5 and RapidSeedbox's Supreme costs EUR 14 with no RAID level stated. RapidSeedbox's Fast, Stream, Rapid and Furious are its Premium plans, which add root SSH, a dedicated IP, remote desktop and one-click apps. Its largest seedbox is 5.6 TB.
Premium tier
| Provider | Plan | Storage | Speed | RAID | Price/mo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PM | Dragon-R Mushu | 3 TB | 20 Gbps | RAID 10 | EUR 17.99 |
| PM | Dragon-R Toruk | 5 TB | 20 Gbps | RAID 10 | EUR 27.99 |
| PM | Dragon-R Shenlong | 10 TB | 20 Gbps | RAID 10 | EUR 54.99 |
| RS | (no equivalent tier) | — | 10 Gbps max | — | — |
RapidSeedbox tops out at 10 Gbps. Pulsed Media's Dragon-R line runs at 20 Gbps on RAID 10 (mirrored + striped).
Storage redundancy
Pulsed Media states the RAID level of its seedbox plans.
RAID 5 (M10G): survives a single drive failure with zero data loss. Your files stay intact while the failed drive is replaced and the array rebuilds.
RAID 10 (Dragon-R): mirrored and striped. Survives drive failures with better write performance than RAID 5.
RapidSeedbox does not state a RAID level on its plan, feature, FAQ or help pages. Its security page mentions "resilient, redundant infrastructure" without further detail.
If you store media libraries, private tracker uploads with long seed histories, or anything you cannot easily replace, RAID matters. Redownloading a curated library or rebuilding ratio on private trackers after a drive failure costs weeks.
Privacy and jurisdiction
| Dimension | Pulsed Media | RapidSeedbox |
|---|---|---|
| Company | Finland (EU, GDPR applies) | Hong Kong business address (terms) and Seychelles address (website organisation data); terms governed by New York law, disputes by private arbitration |
| Data location | Helsinki and Kerava, Finland | France and the Netherlands |
| Logging, in its own words | Privacy policy: no "peeking", logging or checking of customer data contents without a strong reason | Marketing: "you do not have to worry about logs, contracts, or ISPs", "complete anonymity". Privacy policy: login timestamps and IP addresses kept for up to 3 years |
| Monero (XMR) payment | Yes | Not listed (PayPal, card, Bitcoin) |
RapidSeedbox's pages say "you do not have to worry about logs, contracts, or ISPs" and promise "complete anonymity". Its privacy policy (section 6) says login timestamps and IP addresses used to access the account are kept for up to 3 years, and its usage data includes how often SSH is used. When the two differ, the privacy policy is the binding text.
Pulsed Media is a Finnish company, so the EU GDPR applies to it. This cuts both ways: PM must comply with lawful requests, but also must follow strict rules about what data can be collected, how long it can be stored, and who can access it. Pulsed Media's hardware sits in its own datacenters (in rented space) in Finland, and its own staff replace failed parts.
Support
| Dimension | Pulsed Media | RapidSeedbox |
|---|---|---|
| Channels | Tickets, email, Discord | 24/7 live chat, email, tickets |
| AI support | Väinämöinen — autonomous AI sysadmin with server access | — |
| Live chat | Not available | Available 24/7 |
RapidSeedbox has live chat. Pulsed Media does not. If live chat is important to you, that is a real gap.
Pulsed Media's Väinämöinen is an autonomous AI sysadmin that can SSH into servers, diagnose issues, restart services, check RAID arrays, and resolve problems directly.
On Trustpilot (24 October 2026), RapidSeedbox has 403 reviews at 4.4 out of 5 and Pulsed Media has 72 reviews at 4.1 out of 5.
Features
Torrent clients
Both providers support multiple torrent clients. Pulsed Media offers rTorrent (default), Deluge, and qBittorrent, which can run independently. RapidSeedbox offers Deluge, ruTorrent, and qBittorrent.
Media and apps
RapidSeedbox's one-click apps come with its Premium plans. Its site gives three different counts: "up to 130" (home page), "over 65" (FAQ) and "over 50" (features page). The features page lists 47 apps by name. Plex, Emby and Jellyfin are among them.
Pulsed Media ships a one-command media stack installer (install-media-stack.sh) that deploys Jellyfin, Sonarr, Radarr, Prowlarr, SABnzbd, and Cloudplow per-user. The *arr automation suite and rootless Docker are available for custom setups. PMSS includes over 100 scripts and 20+ auto-healing watchdog processes that restart crashed services automatically.
RapidSeedbox offers remote desktop access on its Premium plans. Pulsed Media does not include a remote desktop.
VPN
Both providers include VPN access. RapidSeedbox includes OpenVPN on all plans and WireGuard on its Lean plans. Pulsed Media offers WireGuard and OpenVPN.
Traffic and post-quota behavior
Each Pulsed Media plan has a monthly traffic allowance (for example 10,000 GiB of upload on M10G S and 20,000 GiB on M10G M). After the allowance, PM limits internet upload to 100 Mbps rather than cutting you off, so you can still seed, download, and manage your account indefinitely.
RapidSeedbox lists traffic as unlimited. Its FAQ adds that it "reserves the right to review every Account for excessive space and bandwidth utilization, and to terminate or apply additional fees to those Accounts that exceed allowed levels". It does not state those levels.
RapidSeedbox's review of Pulsed Media, checked
RapidSeedbox publishes a review of Pulsed Media on its own blog (last updated 18 March 2025). Here is how its factual claims stand on 24 October 2026.
| Their page says | Status on 24 October 2026 |
|---|---|
| Trustpilot "only offers a single user review dating back to 2021" | Out of date. Pulsed Media now has 72 Trustpilot reviews at 4.1 out of 5. |
| Pulsed Media "4TB, 10 Gbps, 4TB bandwidth, $10.23/mo" | Out of date. That matches V10G S (4 TB, 4,000 GiB traffic), which is no longer sold. The 4 TB plan sold today, M10G M, is EUR 12.99/month with RAID 5 and 20,000 GiB of monthly upload traffic. |
| "many of its users quickly leave for greener pastures" | The page gives no source or figure for this. |
| "Finland-based", founded in 2010 | Correct. |
Where RapidSeedbox wins
RapidSeedbox is better than Pulsed Media in several areas.
- Online reputation — 403 Trustpilot reviews at 4.4/5 vs Pulsed Media's 72 at 4.1/5 (24 October 2026). For a buyer who checks reviews before purchasing, RS has more social proof.
- Live chat — Available 24/7. PM has ticket-only support.
- Geographic diversity — Servers in 2 countries (NL, FR) vs 1 (Finland). Users closer to Western Europe may see lower latency to RS.
- App library breadth — 47 one-click apps listed by name on its Premium plans, vs a more focused but smaller set.
- Remote desktop — Available on RS Premium plans. PM does not include a remote desktop.
- Credit card payments — RS accepts cards directly. PM routes card payments through PayPal.
- Content marketing — RS publishes hundreds of articles.
Where Pulsed Media wins
- Storage redundancy — RAID 5 (M10G) and RAID 10 (Dragon-R) stated per plan. RS states no RAID level.
- Price per terabyte — EUR 2.08 per TB on M10G XL vs EUR 7.00 on RS's cheapest-per-TB plan.
- Maximum speed — 20 Gbps on the Dragon-R line. RS stops at 10 Gbps.
- Own infrastructure — Own hardware, own software, and its own datacenters in rented space in Finland.
- Finnish EU privacy — The EU GDPR applies to Pulsed Media.
- Monero (XMR) — Privacy-focused cryptocurrency accepted. RS lists PayPal, card and Bitcoin.
- Open source — PMSS is GPL v3 on GitHub. RS has no public GitHub repositories.
- Largest seedbox — 12 TB (M10G XL) vs 5.6 TB (Furious).
- AI sysadmin — Väinämöinen performs actual server diagnostics and repairs.
Bottom line
RapidSeedbox has the larger reach: more reviews, more published content and 24/7 live chat.
For data protection, price, speed, privacy, and infrastructure independence, choose Pulsed Media: the tables above show it ahead on storage redundancy, price per terabyte, top speed, jurisdiction and hardware ownership.
The most distinctive difference: Pulsed Media states RAID 5 or RAID 10 on its seedbox plans, so your data survives a drive failure. RapidSeedbox does not state any RAID level.
See the plans at pulsedmedia.com.
Comparison data checked on 24 October 2026. Pulsed Media pricing from its live product list. RapidSeedbox pricing, terms, privacy policy and review text from rapidseedbox.com. Trustpilot figures from trustpilot.com.
Last verified: October 2026
See also
- Pulsed Media vs Bytesized — PM compared with another shared seedbox provider
- Pulsed Media vs Feral Hosting — PM compared with Feral Hosting
- Seedbox Feature Comparison — features across several seedbox providers
- Pulsed Media Datacenters — where PM's servers run
- Pulsed Media Storage Box vs Hetzner Storage Box — how PM's storage box compares to Hetzner's